Yes, Silencers Are Legal®
42* States Permit Silencer Ownership
The eight states that currently do not allow individuals to own silencers are California, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Massachussetts, New York, New Jersey, Rhode Island, and the District of Columbia.
*If you are an FFL dealer, manufacturer, peace officer, or member of a law enforcement agency or other government agency, there are additional states where you can own a silencer.
How To Buy A Silencer
Silencers are legal but are regulated by federal law and on a state-by-state basis by the Nation Firearm Act (NFA) branch of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (BATFE). Private citizens can legally purchase and possess silencers in 42 states* without a permit.
To purchase a silencer the following qualifications apply:
User Benefits of
FASTER FOLLOW–UP SHOTS
How Does A
Hiram P. Maxim invented the silencer in the early 1900's. His iconic product sold in hardware stores for $3.23, with no tax stamp. While Maxim himself called the product a silencer, it did not silence the firearm, only suppressed the sound to safer levels.
During the Great Depression, it was feared silencers would be used for poaching, and the NFA (National Firearms Act) was passed, giving silencers the well-known $200 tax stamp (at the time, equivalent to $3,000 by today's standards).
The $200 tax stamp remains today.
Guns don't have to be loud, and we believe the citizens of America should be entitled to the safe and enjoyable exercise of their Second Amendment Rights.
We will continue to advocate this belief and invite you to join us as we #FIGHTTHENOISE.